Vinaigrette For Days

It’s been a minute since I’ve posted. Sorry, life happens and I got very, very distracted. But I’m back and more determined than ever to inform and shape all those malleable brains into technique loving cooks who trust their instincts and taste buds.

This summer I’ve been obsessed with a salad inspired by the talented Deb from Smittenkitchen. Technically it’s a combination of two recipes that she shared independently of each other. The first is a red cabbage salad and the second is a tahini miso vinaigrette. Red cabbage is an amazing summer staple: crunchy and bright it LOVES being paired with salty feta and candy-like dates. The dressing, which I prefer on the thick side packs such a flavor punch that any other dressing feels like it’s missing something.

I did, of course, make a few tweaks like adding a whole jalapeño and sweetening with maple syrup instead of honey. Truthfully, this dressing goes into the blender and comes out  a little different each time but gets better and better as it sits in its pretty little mason jar in my fridge. Also sometimes I don’t have cabbage so my sneaky bed of greens is  arugula. Don’t sue me. It tastes just as good.

Here’s my technique for Blender Miso Tahini Vin:

Peel a knob of ginger and slice, two garlic cloves, de-seed a jalapeño, squeeze two lemons, splash of cider vinegar, heaping spoonful of syrup (honey is sweeter and you can always add more), two big spoonfuls of tahini and miso, a few glugs of olive oil and blend it up! Add salt and pepper to taste.

The easiest to find tahini is pretty crappy and dry so extra oil may be necessary. If you can buy in bulk from a neighborhood place, do it! Otherwise, Trader Joe’s has a pretty decent organic tahini. If it’s too thick add some water and of course taste and season!

Oh yeah, I had basil, because duh it’s August so that was pretty darn delicious.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum, sounds like a good staple dressing!

    1. Thanks! I’ve been eating it all summer and see no end in sight!

Leave a Reply

