I Got 99 Problems but these Wings Ain’t One:Crispy Savory Toaster Oven Style

asian wings 1

I forget things I used to know, like how much I loved hip hop and cruising with the car window down and the beats bumping . But like all things 90’s hip hop never really went away and for that I am grateful.

Also, it’s spring so that’s pretty cool.

Now, that means it’s almost “summa time where the livin’ is easy.” Suddenly all sorts of things will soon be back in our lives like grilling and meats and sun and, basically, happiness. But, I live in a city and therefore an apartment and there’s no easy grilling up in here. Yet, in the immortal words of Jay Z “don’t worry about Brooklyn, I continue to flame.”

Toaster oven to the rescue! I set my toaster oven to 400 degrees and put a wire rack over my cooking tray. The chicken wings placed side by side (not Kris Krossed, jump jump), close but not touching. Season liberally with my girls salt n’ peppa, dried coriander, and ginger. Bake for 35 minutes on the lower level rack. As they’re baking, make a basting and dipping sauce. I had leftover brown sauce from a chicken and broccoli order so I added 1Tbl  Sriracha and 1 tsp Sambal Olek (chili sauce). You can use hoisin or oyster sauce, your choice. Thin with a little soy sauce if you’re in the mood. I got 99 problems but my sauce ain’t one!

When the timer goes off, pull the wings out and dip in the sauce with tongs or brush. Then place back on the wire rack and fire it up for another ten minutes. Switch to the broiler for another 5-10 minutes until crispy and browned. Plate, drizzle sauce, top with herbs like cilantro or parsley and get up, get up and get down!

 

Crispy Savory Chicken Wings

1-package wings

dried ginger

dried coriander

3 TBL Oyster or Hoisin Sauce

1 TBL Sriracha

1 tsp

Cilantro

Salt n’ Peppa

Set toaster oven to 400 and place wings on a wire rack. Dust with dried herbs and salt and pepper. Cook for 35 minutes on lowest rack of the toaster oven. Mix the sauce to taste, adding more or less Sriracha if desired. Dip wings in sauce and cook for 10 more minutes. Broil 5-10 minutes until desired crispness is achieved. Can also be made in traditional oven. Cook in middle rack of oven for the same time.

Leave a Reply

