Going Coco-nutty: A Story About Coconut Creamer

Coffee creamer, by definition, is kind of gross. It’s a weird, preservative and sugar filled milk substitute that you use to make your coffee taste like…not coffee.

I used to watch my older relatives put those tiny little plastic cups with the paper peal off tabs into their coffee. Upon more recent inspection, I wouldn’t feed those to a stray pigeon. On a related issue, you don’t need to hear about my great dislike for pigeons.

Then So Delicious came out with a coconut creamer and the world rejoiced. Until it was impossible, once again, to get in my neighborhood. Also, there are a few unrecognizable ingredients as you can see below.

Nutrition Facts
Ingredients: ORGANIC COCONUT BASE (WATER, ORGANIC COCONUT CREAM), CANE SUGAR, DIPOTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, GELLAN GUM.

So I said, screw it. I’m making my own. This is what I did:

Coconut Creamer

1 can full fat coconut milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon honey

pinch of salt

IMG_3071

Now, I’m sure a blender would work better but I didn’t have one. My food processor worked just swell in a pinch. Mostly, it’s necessary to really separate and emulsify the fat globules in the coconut milk. Then you get some froth and a really well combined creamer product. Mix until desired frothiness occurs. Usually takes about 2-3 minutes.

Now, unlike store bought coconut creamer, this will harden in the fridge. My solution? Wet a spoon with hot water and swirl through mixture. Shake in an airtight container for some fresh frothing action. Pour and enjoy!

I love it in black tea but it is delicious used in any creamer capacity. Drinking anything other than this? Now that’s nutty.

IMG_3075

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

