Bon Apetit Sweden

February in San Francisco is an odd time. The rest of the country is buried in snow or hibernating after the gluttony of the holidays. We meander in a balmy 60 degrees and sun basically every day. California is not the real world. Not that I’ve been living in that place recently, the real world I mean. Unless there’s fog.

photo 1 (28)

I mean if it were up to you, would you take the road less traveled …… or the road less traveled? Seeing as I live in unreality, I was at Pop Physique, a bar method studio I bought a Bloomspot deal from. While gazing out the windows onto picturesque Polk St in upscale Russian Hill, I picked up this months Bon Apetit magazine. Amidst the pasta bolognese and lamb ragu something caught my eye. Not because it was extravagant or filled with bacon. It was vegetarian, heaven forbid, and somehow reserved: chickpea soup

At Saltimporten Canteen in Malmo, Sweden, tucked away in an old salt factory, is a lunch spot. They serve two dishes every day, a rotating collection. I was intrigued. The recipe was so simple. How serendipitous that I had recently purchased a massive bag of bulk dry chickpeas?

photo 1 (29)

Yes, that is a photo of the magazine. I meant business.

photo 3 (24)

Onions cooking with thyme, heaven. Then I added the chickpeas (which I soaked overnight) and wine. Then the stock and the waiting began.

I thought about the weather. My parents sent this.

photo 3 (26)

Again, happiness overwhelmed me. There was no shoveling snow in my foreseeable future. When my friends and family back east talk about all the snow they shovel I gloat and smile but secretly I’m waiting for all that pent up good weather karma to go bad. Fingers crossed.

photo 2 (30)

Until then……. I will soak this up. After waiting the requisite hour and a half this is what you get.

photo 4 (22)

The thyme leaves fell right off the sprig, the chickpeas were plump and the onions melted into the broth. The sum of this dish was far far better than its parts. Bon Apetit from Sweden! Tack!

photo 5 (12)

Leave a Reply

