Fancy Fried Chicken

Just a little dinner with friends in the city… At Wayfare Tavern! A place renowned for organic fried chicken and fully booked for dinner on a Saturday evening from 5:30 pm on. We casually strolled into the dark wood interior and prayed for space at the bar.

photo 1 (9)

My drink of choice? Barrel aged rye manhattan in homage to my grandmother Theresa. She would have loved it. Not a maraschino cherry in sight which made this drink rather perfect. Which is why I had two. Don’t judge.

photo 4 (8)

I’m sure the rhubarb cocktail and beer were lovely. The ensuing glow on B and T’s faces were evidence enough.

photo 2 (9)

photo 4 (9)

B is a recent transplant from Manhattan (I did not drink these in her honor I swear) and one of my oldest friends. Her mother was my mom’s bridesmaid. As I youngin’ I would giddily pace the living room while her family finished their epic drive from Washington D.C. to visit us in suburban Massachusetts. We might have had a fashion show. Or two. No comment.

And then there was tartare…

photo 1 (11)

Steak tartare to be exact with the requisite quail egg and accompanied by crispy garlic popovers.

photo (72)

and fried chicken

photo 2 (10)

and tuna carpaccio with sea beans

photo 4 (10)

and sea bass with clams…

photo 1 (10)

and just a smidge of mac and cheese…

photo 5 (3)

Sadly, the mac and cheese did not receive our full attention. I suppose that’s what happens when you order half the menu. It wasn’t my favorite so I let B and T take it home. The nice folks at Wayfare boxed it up and gave up this

photo 3 (8)

A claim ticket. For the mac and cheese. Silly.

photo 5 (2)

Stuffed to the gills we barely managed to completely clear the plate of this sinful sticky toffee pudding with pepper ice cream. The poached pears on top were unnecessary. To fully illustrate my point I ate them both.  In any case, my taste buds say thanks Tyler Florence, for a gut bustingly delicious meal. My waistline says, “you bastard!”

Leave a Reply

