Bikinis and Turkey

“What month is it again?” Is what I keep asking myself while cruising down the boardwalk on Venice beach. It’s a balmy 75 degrees (that’s about 23 for all you Celsius lovers). Yet I am on my way to help roast a turkey for Thanksgiving. This is one east coast transplant who will, like driving a car on the other side of the road in London, never quite get used to it.

ImageThe Santa Monica pier is always a pretty sight. Even in the dark. When in LA it is obviously required to eat…..Ramen!

ImageRamen is a Japanese soup made with traditionally pork or chicken broth filled with all sorts of deliciousness. My cousin, J, took us to Ramen Yamadaya I ordered the Tonkotsu (pork broth made over 20 hours) level 2 spicy! Bamboo shoots, scallions, sesame seeds sliced pork and half a boiled egg. 

ImageYeahhhhhh, so I was pretty hungry that day. Needless to say it was everything I’d dreamed and then some. 

ImageJ also ordered some gyoza and pork friend rice with corn kernels nestled in amidst the salty chewy goodness and some pickled ginger. I ate both. I wan’t hungry but I did. I don’t regret it. After lunch, I sat in my cousins yard and pondered this tree.

ImageIsn’t it odd? Well, I’m off to soak up some rays on the beach and then feast with my family. Hasta la vista baby!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. explodyfull says:

    I love ramen, I always get an extra half egg

Leave a Reply

